Learning Korean Through K-Pop

Sistar - Loving U

I have found that in the past, I’ve learned and familiarized myself with certain Korean words by hearing them repeatedly in K-Pop songs. If I heard a familiar word but didn’t know the definition, sometimes I would look it up, and sometimes I wouldn’t. In order to help widen my Korean vocabulary I have decided to start this blog, and in this blog I will utilize K-Pop songs to familiarize myself with words I may not know. Much more fun than rote memorization, right? This blog is mostly a project I am doing for my own benefit, but if others can get something out of it as well, that’s great. 이제 시작합시다!

The first song I will look at is Sistar’s latest, “Loving U”.

1. 먼저 말하긴 싫은데 내 입가에 맴돌아

Translation: I don’t want to say it first, but the words linger on my lips

Definition: 맴돌다 – circle, hover (around/between), linger (on)

2. 모두 휘파람을 불며

Translation: Everyone whistles

Definition: 휘파람을 불다 – whistle

3. 나를 꼬시려고 했던 남자들 이젠 모두 안녕

Translation: The guys who planned to hit on me, goodbye to all of you now

Definition: 꼬시다 – chase, come on (to), hit on, pick up, chat up

4. 내가 사랑에 빠졌나

Translation: I must have fallen in love

Definition: 빠지다 – be addicted to, indulge (oneself) in, be absorbed[engrossed] in, be crazy[wild] about, be hooked (on)

5. 눈이 마주치면

Translation: When our eyes meet

Definition: 마주치다 – meet

More words…

관리 – maintain, care for, look after

조절 – control, adjust, regulate

놓치다 – miss, lose

숨기다 – hide, conceal, cover (up)

고장 – trouble (with), breakdown, failure

정신 – mind, spirit, soul, consciousness

I knew more words in this song than I originally thought! If you believe there is any mistake with translations or definitions, just let me know.

Don't be afraid to leave a comment!